Oak Ridge Historic District
Ever wonder what's historic about the Oak Ridge Historic District?
The Historic District, which was established in 1994, boasts more than 50 historic sites on over 400 acres:
• 37 historic buildings, including two National Register sites and the ORMA National Historic Landmark District.
• 16 tracts of open land once owned by prominent families who helped shape the early history of Guilford County. Several have been developed following the Historic District Design Standards.
How were the boundaries determined?
The boundaries encompass the majority of our historic sites and were approved by the State, County, and local property owners.
What's the goal of the Historic District?
To preserve our history while allowing for compatible growth. It's essentially a balance between no change and drastic changes.
Why have Design Standards?
To give guidance about what kinds of exterior changes are compatible with the historic character of our district. The Standards apply to the whole district – including what's in between the historic buildings – to maintain its unique character.
What does the Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) do?
The HPC meets monthly (third Wednesdays at 7 p.m.) to review proposed changes in the Historic District. Both Town staff and HPC members are happy to help residents better understand the review process. The HPC also places historic markers and promotes preservation.
What are the benefits of having a Historic District?
It helps preserve Oak Ridge's charm, livability and unique historic character. And it's good for business and local property values!
For more about the HPC and its activities, click HERE.
Any new construction or renovations/additions to existing structures in the District must be compatible with the HISTORIC DISTRICT DESIGN STANDARDS HANDBOOK. For questions about projects within the Historic District, contact Town Hall at (336) 644-7009.